Exercise, Pain, & Your Menstrual Cycle

Leada_M
Guide
Guide

Hi Athletawell family, 

As a physical therapist I often see patients over the course of months. I work with a lot of female athletes who may have pain with an injury, and sometimes this pain is higher than average. With different phases of the menstrual cycle, different exercise intensities are suggested (if it feels right for you!)

I'm curious, have you ever noticed pain or body sensitivity increase just before your period? How does this impact your workout? What do you differently before, during, or after it? 

-Dr. Leada 

15 REPLIES 15

NillaMarie

I get extremely painful period cramps to where I can’t get out of bed (I use a tens unit for the pain). I can never workout during my period, and I always feel bad Most women can get past the pain, but I can’t. 

That must be terrible! I was just going to suggest the TENS unit to help with the pain, so I'm glad you're on that. I wonder if @Tiffany_L or @Heather_C have any recommendations on supplements suggestion for leading up to it in order to help? 

I'm so sorry this has been so painful for you! Up to 80% of the population is deficient in magnesium which is an essential micronutrient. It is a relaxing mineral that help lessen uterine cramps during your cycle. Perhaps consider adding 200-400 mg magnesium GLYCINATE before bedtime and see if that helps! 

Dr. Tiffany

Wow I had no idea! Thanks for this insight @Tiffany_L! Is this something we should consider at a certain part of our cycles? Or just when we feel we need it?

Either way! Many women take it every night and increase by 200 mg the week before their period starts for 7 days.